The 5 Keys to Self-Love

As followers of Christ, we know that God has commanded us to love our neighbors as we love ourselves..but we cannot do that effectively if we do not love ourselves first!

As moms, sometimes, we do not even realize how much self-love we lack. Maybe we did not grow up being taught how to REALLY love ourselves. Maybe we lost our spark once our motherhood duties commenced. Regardless of the situation, the good news is that self-love is something that can be worked on.

What does it mean to love yourself? Well, when we look at the bible, 1 Corinthians 13 verses 4-7 give us a list of what exactly love looks like.

“Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.” 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 NLT

Are you patient and kind with yourself?
Are you jealous of others?
Are you easily irritated with yourself when something does not go as planned?
Are you holding something from the past against yourself?
Do you feel hopeless or have you given up on yourself?

Why are we so hard on ourselves?

Did you know that our brains are hardwired to seek ‘the problem’ in everything? We spend so much time judging ourselves and seeking out all of the flaws, rather than using our energy to love ourselves with intention.

Self-love is constantly committing to valuing ourselves as human beings that are worthy of love!

Self-love is NOT selfish.
Self-love is NOT egotistic.
Self-love is NOT vane.

Self-love is a basic human need and as moms, it is imperative that we know this, and reignite our love for ourselves to better love our families and those around us.

Self love is a basic human need….

Here are the 5 keys to Self-Love:


Self-Acceptance consists of forgiving oneself of the past and accepting the divine person you are becoming. Self-acceptance is recognizing that you are an imperfect being constantly evolving and being perfected by your creator.


Self-respect is first acknowledging and then honoring the lack and the needs of your body, mind, and spirit. Self-respect is setting boundaries for yourself and for others. Self-love is protecting your peace from any person or thing that tries to disturb it. Self-respect is never speaking down to yourself.


Self-compassion is offering the same kindness and understanding to yourself, as you would with someone else. Showing yourself some grace! Accepting that you won’t always be perfect and that the minor flaws are simply fragments of your being, not who you are entirely.


Self-empowerment requires self-awareness-it is understanding your strengths and weaknesses, yet believing in yourself to reach your full potential. Self-empowerment is the act of working towards goals, dreams, and desires-it is having the mentality of growth. Self-empowerment is maintaining a positive mindset even through difficult circumstances.


Self-care is the physical action one takes to tend to and nourish their body, mind, and spirit. Self-care is acknowing when one is in need of support and seeking the proper assistance. Self-care is valuing and prioritizing one’s needs, doing what brings your life peace and joy.

So you see, self love is attainable if you make the commitment to work at it.

It will require patience..
It will require self-forgiveness..
It will require practice..

But you will see that the result of having a better relationship with yourself, will be the thriving of all other relationships in your life.

Dear Lord,
Thank you for creating me so perfectly in my mother’s womb. Allow me to see myself through your eyes and begin this journey of self-love. Heal my heart from all past hurts and grant me the ability to begin prioritizing my needs so that I can in turn effectively attend to the needs and love those around me, as you have commanded me to. Amen.